The End for Now

Dear friends and family,

This may come as no surprise to you, but due to school and having very little time to focus on other various engagements, I have determined to stop blogging. At least for the time being.

Thank you for your support following me on my adventures as I found myself adjusting to a new culture.

Wishing you the very best in 2014!

Rachel

4 Responses to “The End for Now”

  1. Mr. Goat Says:

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

  2. Mr. Goat Says:

    I mean BAAAAAAAAAAA!

  3. Holly Edgington Says:

    Hello, I just stumbled on your site as I was researching a possible move to Horgan. I’m an American living in Canada now but we are most likely moving to Horgan in January. I have a 13 year old daughter to find a school for but I am most worried about my dog ! I’ve heard stories about the Swiss and noise. How do they manage a dog never barking? Crazy question I know, Holly

    • rachelbp Says:

      Hey Holly,

      Thanks for the note! I’m more than willing to share my experience.

      It is true that in Switzerland, people come to very much value their peace and quiet. Heck, Mr. Goat and I have even realized this ourselves! We’re much more critical about the banging around our upstairs neighbor’s kids do than I think we would have been in the states. And with a dog, people expect that you have trained it well enough to minimize barking. In fact, they recommend (require?) you to take dog-training classes if you bring a dog that they believe is not well-behaved enough. Your neighbors will likely complain to the landlord or leave notes in your mailbox (or something equally passive-aggressive) if they think your dog is too noisy.

      Luckily for us, we have a dog that doesn’t really bark. Crazy, I know. But when he does, we always tell him no to try and train him out of it. Of course, there are occasions when he thinks he sees a squirrel in the backyard or is telling you just how excited he is to play fetch in the house and barks quite loudly. But these instances are few enough and do not last very long so we have not yet had a complaint about the noise. I think typically your neighbors will understand that a dog is a dog and will occasionally bark. It’s only when you have those dogs that are constantly barking where neighbors will get annoyed.

      It might also help if you are lucky enough to move into a unit with foreign neighbors. I think we’re extra careful with the noise we produce because we mainly have retired Swiss neighbors! But I’ve heard that a working bunch of foreigners can be more relaxed about such things.

      Good luck on your move and let me know if you have any more questions!

      Best,

      Rachel

Leave a Reply

